University of Wisconsin–Madison

Molecular and Genome Biology of Microbes

Microbial genome biology is a rapidly expanding field that couples genomics and proteomics with molecular, cellular, and structural biology to understand microbial organisms. Microbes offer unique advantages for graduate training because their smaller genomes and proteomes and their diverse metabolisms can be studied comprehensively, because they are highly amenable to currently emerging methodologies, because they fundamentally impact human health, agriculture, the economy, and the environment, and because they offer unparalleled insights into the evolution of life on earth. Our group provides graduate student training in Molecular and Genome Biology of Microbes. Participating labs offer state-of-the-art training in research areas that focus on molecular, biochemical, or structural approaches to study microbial transcription, gene regulation, regulatory RNAs, DNA replication, DNA recombination and DNA repair, transposition, and other genome biology processes. The focus group provides research training in systems biology approaches to analyze the operation and interactions of microbial regulatory circuits (gene arrays, proteomics, gene network and pathway modeling, computational biology, etc.). UW-Madison is a world-renowned leader in molecular studies of microbes, and brings together researchers from many departments (e.g., Bacteriology, Biochemistry, Biomolecular Chemistry, Genetics, Engineering, and Plant Pathology).

Our focus group hosts twice-monthly meetings of the “Microbial Mechanisms Forum” with an emphasis on graduate student presentations Tuesdays at 4 pm (check our web site for a current schedule and location). Our group also hosts a leading international meeting on microbial mechanisms at UW-Madison every August: “Molecular Genetics of Bacteria and Phages“.

Headshot

Focus Group Chair Robert Landick
Biochemistry Department
Control of transcription elongation; RNA polymerase structure/function
landick@bact.wisc.edu

Focus Group Members

Daniel Amador-Noguez

Bacteriology Department

Metabolic regulation in biofuel producing bacteria

amadornoguez@wisc.edu

David Brow

Biomolecular Chemistry Department

DNA transcription and RNA splicing in yeast

dabrow@wisc.edu

Briana Burton

Bacteriology Department

Macromolecule transport across membranes

briana.burton@wisc.edu

Silvia Cavagnero

Chemistry Department

Protein folding and aggregation in the cell, molecular chaperones, role of the ribosome in protein folding

cavagnero@chem.wisc.edu

Michael Cox

Biochemistry Department

Genetic recombination and DNA repair

mcox@wisc.edu

Joseph Dillard

Medical Microbiology & Immunology Department

Bacterial pathogenesis

jpdillard@wisc.edu

Timothy Donohue

Bacteriology Department

Process & control of bioenergy generation

tdonohue@bact.wisc.edu

Catherine Fox

Biomolecular Chemistry Department

Conservation and diversity in mechanisms that control the inheritance and expression of eukaryotic chromosomes

cfox@wisc.edu

Paul Friesen

Biochemistry Department

Apoptosis, programmed cell death, mechanisms of host-virus interactions, regulation of transcription, baculovirus evolution

pfriesen@wisc.edu

Richard Gourse

Bacteriology Department

Control of transcription initiation

rgourse@bact.wisc.edu

Chris Hittinger

Genetics Department

Molecular evolution of gene networks

cthittinger@wisc.edu

Aaron Hoskins

Biochemistry Department

Mechanisms of pre-mRNA Splicing

ahoskins@wisc.edu

Christina Hull

Biomolecular Chemistry Department

Human fungal pathogen development & pathogenesis

cmhull@wisc.edu

Mehdi Kabbage

Plant Pathology Department

Plant fungal interactions; stress tolerance, programmed cell death

kabbage@wisc.edu

James Keck

Biomolecular Chemistry Department

DNA replication, recombination, and repair

jlkeck@facstaff.wisc.edu

Nancy Keller

Medical Microbiology & Immunology Department

Aspergillus cell biology

npkeller@wisc.edu

Patricia Kiley

Biomolecular Chemistry Department

Molecular genetics and biochemistry of oxygen regulated gene expression and transcription activation

pjkiley@wisc.edu

Bruce Klein

Pediatrics Department

Immunology and pathogenesis of diseases due to fungi

bsklein@pediatrics.wisc.edu

Laura Knoll

Medical Microbiology & Immunology Department

Pathogenesis and developmental regulation in the parasite toxoplasma

ljknoll@wisc.edu

Mark Mandel

Medical Microbiology & Immunology Department

Genetic analysis of bacterial colonization

mmandel@wisc.edu

Megan McClean

Biomedical Engineering Department

Biological signal processing

mmcclean@wisc.edu

Brian Pfleger

Chemical & Biological Engineering Department

Sustainability through synthetic biology

pfleger@engr.wisc.edu

Srivatsan Raman

Biochemistry Department

Synthetic biology, protein design, metabolic engineering, allostery, directed evolution

sraman4@wisc.edu

Jennifer Reed

Chemical & Biological Engineering Department

Biological network modeling of microbial systems

reed@engr.wisc.edu

John-Demian (JD) Sauer

Medical Microbiology & Immunology Department

Host-pathogen interactions

sauer3@wisc.edu

Erin Silva

Plant Pathology Department

Soil biology, soil ecology, food safety

emsilva@wisc.edu

Ophelia Venturelli

Biochemistry Department

Systems and synthetic biology of genetic regulatory networks and microbial ecosystems

venturelli@wisc.edu

Jade Wang

Stress and genome integrity in bacteria

Stress and genome integrity in bacteria

wang@bact.wisc.edu