Physiology of an output neuron in the retina

Physiology of an output neuron in the retina

Physiology

Physiology is the study of any biological process that is associated with the functioning of an organism. It can span many levels of complexity ranging from (but not limited to) processes shaping neurotransmission in the nervous system, to mechanisms regulating the blood supply of an organism, to endocrine regulation, to pathophysiology in disease conditions, and to studies of drug clearance from tissues. In being fundamental to understanding the function of the human body, physiology forms the basis for medicine. Modern molecular biological tools have opened up the study of cellular and organ level function with extraordinary precision as well as with extraordinary breadth. Research of faculty in the physiology focus group spans multiple areas ranging from molecular and cellular physiology to systems level thereby linking molecular and cellular mechanisms to the function and dysfunction of organs and ultimately the whole organism.

Focus Group Chair Raunak Sinha
Neuroscience Department
Neural signaling in the retina
raunak.sinha@wisc.edu

Focus Group Members

Caroline Alexander

Credentials: Oncology Department

Position title: Mammary tumor cell biology

Email: alexander@oncology.wisc.edu

Rozalyn Anderson

Credentials: Medicine Department

Position title: Metabolism of aging and age-related disease

Email: rozalyn.anderson@wisc.edu

Arash Bashirullah

Credentials: Pharmacy Department

Position title: Developmental regulation of endocrine and exocrine biology

Email: bashirullah@wisc.edu

Grace Boekhoff-Falk

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Limb and neural development

Email: boekhofffalk@wisc.edu

Edwin Chapman

Credentials: Neuroscience Department

Position title: Exocytosis, synaptic transmission, neuronal cell biology

Email: chapman@wisc.edu

Cynthia Czajkowski

Credentials: Neuroscience Department

Position title: Molecular and cellular mechanisms of pentameric ligand gated ion channel signaling

Email: cmczajko@wisc.edu

Loren Denlinger

Credentials: Medicine Department

Position title: Pathogen-host interactions important to airway inflammation

Email: ldenling@wisc.edu

Amy Fowler

Credentials: Radiology Department

Position title: Molecular imaging of steroid receptors in breast cancer

Email: afowler@wisc.edu

Ying Ge

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Systems biology, cardiac disease and regeneration

Email: ge2@wisc.edu

Alexey Glukhov

Credentials: Medicine Department

Position title: Cardiac electrophysiology, biophysics, cellular and molecular biology of cardiomyocytes, cardiac arrhythmias and pathophysiology

Email: aglukhov@medicine.wisc.edu

Timothy Gomez

Credentials: Neuroscience Department

Position title: Regulation of axon guidance

Email: tmgomez@facstaff.wisc.edu

Guy Groblewski

Credentials: Nutritional Sciences Department

Position title: Membrane trafficking in digestive epithelia

Email: groby@nutrisci.wisc.edu

Mrinalini Hoon

Credentials: Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences Department

Position title: Mechanisms regulating retinal circuit organization

Email: mhoon@wisc.edu

Tu-Anh Huynh

Credentials: Food Science Department

Position title: C-di-AMP signaling in bacterial physiology and pathogenesis

Email: thuynh6@wisc.edu

Meyer Jackson

Credentials: Neuroscience Department

Position title: Electrophysiology and imaging techniques are used to explore the basic mechanisms of neuronal signaling

Email: mbjackso@wisc.edu

Joan Jorgensen

Credentials: Comparative Biosciences Department

Position title: Transcriptional control of gonad development

Email: joan.jorgensen@wisc.edu

Timothy Kamp

Credentials: Medicine Department

Position title: Cardiac ion channels function and regulation; basic mechanisms of heart failure and arrhythmias; stem cells and cardiac regeneration

Email: tjk@medicine.wisc.edu

Michelle Kimple

Credentials: Medicine Department

Position title: Regulation of pancreatic beta-cell biology

Email: mkimple@medicine.wisc.edu

Dudley Lamming

Credentials: Medicine Department

Position title: Regulation of metabolism by nutrient signaling pathways

Email: lamming@wisc.edu

Youngsook Lee

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Molecular regulation of cardiovascular development, disease, function and cardiomyogenesis

Email: youngsooklee@wisc.edu

Bo Liu

Credentials: Surgery Department

Position title: Cell death, signal transduction, extracellular matrix, inflammation, vascular disease

Email: liub@surgery.wisc.edu

Hiroshi Maeda

Credentials: Botany Department

Position title: Amino acid homeostasis in plants

Email: maeda2@wisc.edu

Colleen McDowell

Credentials: Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences Department

Position title: Molecular pathways of glaucoma pathogenesis

Email: cmmcdowell@wisc.edu

Matthew Merrins

Credentials: Medicine Department

Position title: Beta cell biology and diabetes

Email: merrins@wisc.edu

Darcie Moore

Credentials: Neuroscience Department

Position title: Neural stem cells and aging

Email: darcie.moore@wisc.edu

Federico Rey

Credentials: Bacteriology Department

Position title: Gut microbiome, diet and cardiometabolic health

Email: ferey@wisc.edu

Gail Robertson

Credentials: Neuroscience Department

Position title: Molecular mechanisms of ion channel disease

Email: garobert@wisc.edu

Judith Simcox

Credentials: Biochemistry Department

Position title: Lipid metabolism in cold exposure

Email: jsimcox@wisc.edu

Chad Vezina

Credentials: Comparative Biosciences Department

Position title: Urinary dysfunction in aging men

Email: cmvezina@wisc.edu

Han Wang

Credentials: Integrative Biology Department

Position title: Genetic and circuit dissection of sleep

Email: han.wang@wisc.edu

Jyoti Watters

Credentials: Comparative Biosciences Department

Position title: Signal transduction and epigenetic regulation of microglial gene transcription and immune function

Email: jjwatters@wisc.edu

Eric Yen

Credentials: Nutritional Sciences Department

Position title: Intestine, assimilation of dietary fat, and energy balance

Email: eric.yen@wisc.edu

Fei Zhao

Credentials: Comparative Biosciences Department

Position title: Sexual differentiation of reproductive tracts

Email: fei.zhao@wisc.edu

Xuehua Zhong

Credentials: Genetics Department

Position title: Epigenetic regulation in plants

Email: xzhong28@wisc.edu