Spermatogenesis in the planarian /Schmditea mediterranea/. Nuclei are visualized by Hoechst staining (gray) and the mitotic marker phospho-histone H3 is visualized in red. Maximum-intensity projection of a laser-scanning confocal image series. Image by Tracy Chong (Newmark lab).

Image by Tracy Chong (Newmark lab)

Developmental Biology and Regenerative Medicine

Photo: Spermatogenesis in the planarian /Schmditea mediterranea/. Nuclei are visualized by Hoechst staining (gray) and the mitotic marker phospho-histone H3 is visualized in red. Maximum-intensity projection of a laser-scanning confocal image series. Image by Tracy Chong (Newmark lab).

The overall goal of the research in the Developmental Biology and Regenerative Medicine focus group is to understand the molecular mechanisms underlying embryonic development and regeneration in the adult. This large and diverse focus group consists of faculty from departments and schools across campus. Our faculty are engaged in a wide variety of research directions ranging from basic research to elucidate the molecular mechanisms governing development and regeneration to translational goal of using stem cells as therapeutic agents to treat disease. Group members are exploring the mechanisms by which transcription factors, cytosolic regulators and extracellular cues determine cell fate, cell movements and patterning during development and regeneration. The group also has an emphasis on stem cell biology, exploring questions on self-renewal and differentiation during embryonic development and regeneration, developmental timing and using stem cells in tissue repair and the treatment of disease.

Collectively, the group uses a wide spectrum of model organisms in their research including nematodes, flies, zebrafish, planaria, amphibians and mice, as well as embryonic and induced pluripotent stem cells. Students have the opportunity to use a wide variety of genetic, biochemical, molecular and genomic approaches including state of the art imaging, transgenic and gene editing, and genomic and bioinformatics technologies in their research.

There is a monthly Developmental Biology Student/Postdoc seminar series in which students and postdoctoral fellows present their research to a broad audience of developmental and regenerative biologists. Contact Anne Griep at aegriep@wisc.edu for more information or to receive seminar notifications.

Photo of Anne Griep

Focus Group Chair Anne Griep
Cell & Regenerative Biology Department
Molecular regulation of mammalian eye development
aegriep@wisc.edu

Focus Group Members

Reid Alisch

Credentials: Neurological Surgery Department

Position title: Neuroepigenetics of human behavior

Email: alisch@wisc.edu

Richard Amasino

Credentials: Biochemistry Department

Position title: Seasonal control of flowering

Email: amasino@biochem.wisc.edu

Jean-Michel Ané

Credentials: Department of Bacteriology

Position title: Symbiotic plant-microbe associations (nodulation and mycorrhization)

Email: jane@wisc.edu

Anjon Audhya

Credentials: Biomolecular Chemistry Department

Position title: Mechanisms of membrane trafficking; live cell imaging techniques

Email: audhya@wisc.edu

Arash Bashirullah

Credentials: Pharmacy Department

Position title: Developmental regulation of endocrine and exocrine biology

Email: bashirullah@wisc.edu

William Bement

Credentials: Laboratory of Cell and Molecular Biology & Integrative Biology Department

Position title: Signal transduction, cell division, and cytoskeleton

Email: wmbement@facstaff.wisc.edu

Anita Bhattacharyya

Credentials: Cell and Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Modeling neurodevelopmental disorders with human stem cells.

Email: bhattacharyy@waisman.wisc.edu

Seth Blair

Credentials: Integrative Biology Department

Position title: Development and signaling in Drosophila

Email: ssblair@facstaff.wisc.edu

Barak Blum

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Functional beta cell maturation

Email: bblum4@wisc.edu

Grace Boekhoff-Falk

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Limb and neural development

Email: boekhofffalk@wisc.edu

Emery Bresnick

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Normal and malignant hematopoiesis; epigenetics; molecular medicine

Email: ehbresni@wisc.edu

Michael Cahill

Credentials: Comparative Biosciences Department

Position title: Molecular and biochemical mechanisms of synapse morphogenesis

Email: michael.cahill@wisc.edu

Qiang Chang

Credentials: Medical Genetics Department

Position title: Epigenetic regulation of brain function

Email: qchang@waisman.wisc.edu

Dawn Davis

Credentials: Medicine, Division of Endocrinology

Position title: Pancreatic islet biology

Email: dbd@medicine.wisc.edu

Erik Dent

Credentials: Neuroscience Department

Position title: Regulation of the cytoskeleton in neuronal differentiation

Email: ewdent@wisc.edu

Feyza Engin

Credentials: Biomolecular Chemistry Department

Position title: Endoplasmic reticulum stress, organelle dysfunction, unfolded protein response, beta cell function and diabetes

Email: fengin@wisc.edu

Jacques Galipeau

Credentials: Medicine Department

Position title: Regenerative medicine, immunotherapy, synthetic cytokines

Email: jgalipeau@wisc.edu

Ying Ge

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Systems biology, cardiac disease and regeneration

Email: ge2@wisc.edu

Simon Gilroy

Credentials: Botany Department

Position title: Plant cell biology and signal transduction

Email: sgilroy@wisc.edu

Alexey Glukhov

Credentials: Medicine Department

Position title: Cardiac electrophysiology, biophysics, cellular and molecular biology of cardiomyocytes, cardiac arrhythmias and pathophysiology

Email: aglukhov@medicine.wisc.edu

Timothy Gomez

Credentials: Neuroscience Department

Position title: Regulation of axon guidance

Email: tmgomez@facstaff.wisc.edu

Daniel Greenspan

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Extracellular modulators of cellular behavior

Email: dsgreens@wisc.edu

Yevgenya Grinblat

Credentials: Integrative Biology Department

Position title: Genetic basis of neural development

Email: ygrinblat@facstaff.wisc.edu

Mary Halloran

Credentials: Integrative Biology Department

Position title: Mechanisms of axon guidance and neural crest cell migration during zebrafish neural development

Email: mchalloran@facstaff.wisc.edu

Jeffrey Hardin

Credentials: Integrative Biology Department

Position title: Morphogenesis and pattern formation during early development

Email: jdhardin@wisc.edu

Melissa Harrison

Credentials: Biomolecular Chemistry Department

Position title: Zygotic genome transcriptional activation

Email: mharrison3@wisc.edu

Peiman Hematti

Credentials: Medicine Department

Position title: Transplantation Immunology and Experimental Cellular Therapy

Email: pxh@medicine.wisc.edu

Mrinalini Hoon

Credentials: Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences Department

Position title: Mechanisms regulating retinal circuit organization

Email: mhoon@wisc.edu

Zhen Huang

Credentials: Neurology Department

Position title: Cerebral cortex development, neuronel migration, dendrite development

Email: z.huang@neurology.wisc.edu

Christina Hull

Credentials: Biomolecular Chemistry Department

Position title: Human fungal pathogen development & pathogenesis

Email: cmhull@wisc.edu

Joan Jorgensen

Credentials: Comparative Biosciences Department

Position title: Transcriptional control of gonad development

Email: joan.jorgensen@wisc.edu

Timothy Kamp

Credentials: Medicine Department

Position title: Cardiac ion channels function and regulation; basic mechanisms of heart failure and arrhythmias; stem cells and cardiac regeneration

Email: tjk@medicine.wisc.edu

Junsu Kang

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Regeneration, zebrafish, enhancer, fin, heart

Email: junsu.kang@wisc.edu

Judith Kimble

Credentials: Biochemistry Department

Position title: Molecular genetics of animal development

Email: jekimble@wisc.edu

Melissa Kinney

Credentials: Biomedical Engineering Department

Position title: Stem cell systems biology

Email: melissa.kinney@wisc.edu

Youngsook Lee

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Molecular regulation of cardiovascular development, disease, function and cardiomyogenesis

Email: youngsooklee@wisc.edu

Wan-Ju Li

Credentials: Orthopedics & Rehabilitation Department

Position title: iPSC-based skeletal regeneration; mesenchymal stem cell biology

Email: li@ortho.wisc.edu

Robert Lipinski

Credentials: Comparative Biosciences Department

Position title: Development of the brain and face

Email: rjlipinski@wisc.edu

Ahmed Mahmoud

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Mammalian Heart Regeneration

Email: aimahmoud@wisc.edu

Kristyn Masters

Credentials: Biomedical Engineering Department

Position title: In vitro disease modeling

Email: kmasters@wisc.edu

Darcie Moore

Credentials: Neuroscience Department

Position title: Neural stem cells and aging

Email: darcie.moore@wisc.edu

Phillip Newmark

Credentials: Integrative Biology Department

Position title: Regeneration and germ cell development in flatworms

Email: pnewmark@wisc.edu

Jon Odorico

Credentials: Surgery Department

Position title: Embryonic stem cells to generate insulin producing cells for the treatment of diabetes and to study pancreatic islet development

Email: jon@surgery.wisc.edu

Francisco Pelegri

Credentials: Genetics Department

Position title: Genetic control of zebrafish embryogenesis

Email: fjpelegri@wisc.edu

Krishanu Saha

Credentials: Biomolecular Chemistry Department

Position title: Human stem cell engineering

Email: ksaha@wisc.edu

Prashant Sharma

Credentials: Integrative Biology Department

Position title: Biodiversity in invertebrates

Email: psharma37@wisc.edu

Michael Sheets

Credentials: Biomolecular Chemistry Department

Position title: Molecular mechanisms regulating early vertebrate development

Email: mdsheets@wisc.edu

Nader Sheibani

Credentials: Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences Department

Position title: Cell adhesion and signaling in vascular cells

Email: nsheibanikar@wisc.edu

Ahna Skop

Credentials: Genetics Department

Position title: Role of mRNAs in cell division and pluripotency; Neurodegeneration

Email: skop@wisc.edu

Igor Slukvin

Credentials: Pathology & Laboratory Medicine Department

Position title: Hematopoietic development from pluripotent stem cells; de novo generation of hematopoietic stem cells

Email: islukvin@wisc.edu

Edgar Spalding

Credentials: Botany Department

Position title: Plant functional genomics and physiology

Email: spalding@wisc.edu

Rupa Sridharan

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Epigenetics, somatic cell reprogramming, cell fate change

Email: rsridharan2@wisc.edu

Michael Sussman

Credentials: Biochemistry Department

Position title: Genome technologies applied to the plasma membrane of eukaryotes: signal transduction and bioenergetics

Email: msussman@wisc.edu

John Svaren

Credentials: Comparative Biosciences Department

Position title: Transcriptional regulation of peripheral nerve myelination

Email: jpsvaren@wisc.edu

Owen Tamplin

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: The hematopoietic stem cell niche

Email: tamplin@wisc.edu

Chad Vezina

Credentials: Comparative Biosciences Department

Position title: Urinary dysfunction in aging men

Email: cmvezina@wisc.edu

David Wassarman

Credentials: Medical Genetics Department

Position title: Neurodegeneration in Drosophila

Email: dawassarman@wisc.edu

Deneen Wellik

Credentials: Cell & Regenerative Biology Department

Position title: Hox genes, Organogenesis, Regeneration, mesenchymal stem cells, Mouse genetics

Email: wellik@wisc.edu

Fei Zhao

Credentials: Comparative Biosciences Department

Position title: Sexual differentiation of reproductive tracts

Email: fei.zhao@wisc.edu

Xinyu Zhao

Credentials: Neuroscience Department

Position title: Epigenetic regulation, neural stem cells, neurodevelopment, noncoding RNA, RNA binding protein, learning and memory

Email: xinyu.zhao@wisc.edu